Glory in Death – J.D. Robb


Pros: I love these characters!

Cons: The murder investigation was pretty lame.
Glory in Death is only the second novel in J.D. Robb’s “In Death” series.  Even though it’s “an oldie” it still contains the charm that attracts me to this series.

Like all books in the series, this one takes place in the future – 2058 – and centers around Lieutenant Eve Dallas, a homicide cop in New York.  In each book, Eve handles a different crime.  In this case, someone is slicing the throats of some high-profile women.  Each of them women was adored – who could want them dead?  Of course the first thing Eve does is look for a commonality among the three women.  And of course, the only person she can find, with ties to all of them is her own boyfriend (in later books, husband) Roarke.

One thing I really like about this series is the consistency of the characters, over time.  Whether grabbing a book from the start of the series, or towards the end, the characters remain true to themselves.  They grow, mature, and make life-changing decisions, but their core personalities remain constant.

In this book, Eve meets Peabody for the first time.  Peabody appears in the rest of the books, and is always a lot of fun.  Her personality is very different from Eve’s, causing humorous friction between them, at times.  Sure enough, even though this is the first time we meet her, I immediately noticed Peabody’s personality already being developed.

Feeney, Nadine, Mavis, Dr. Mira, and Summerset are also present in this book – characters we get to know fully as the series movies on.

In this book, it comes to light that both Eve and Roarke had troubled childhoods.  Roarke remembers his, and has come to terms with it.  Eve can barely remember the details, and doesn’t wish to remember them.  Yet she is frequently haunted by nightmares.  I like how this story is introduced very slowly, and developed a little bit at a time, as the books move forward.  But if read as a stand-alone novel, the reader might be disappointed at the dropped storyline.

Taking place in the future, the author has a lot of leeway when it comes to technology.  In this book, a few “gadgets” are introduced to the readers, but nothing outlandish.  No magic “solve my murder investigation for me” button exists.  Eve has to solve her cases the old fashioned way – lots of hard work, and a few lucky breaks.  I’m happy about this – it would be “cheating”, I think, if the author relied on make-believe futuristic gizmos to solve crimes.  The technology in these books is more of the fun type (the Auto Chef that you program to cook your food) and doesn’t detract from the investigation angle of the story.

As far as the murder investigation goes, it was fairly lame.  A whole lot of time is spent chasing geese in the wrong direction, before a real clue is finally brought to light, one that sets Eve on the right path.  At that point, there is a bit of a “surprise” but nothing terribly drastic.  In fact, by the time it comes, many readers will have seen it coming.  I do feel that the murder investigation, which is supposed to be the main focus of this book, was its weakest part.

This book is fine, as part of the series.  While the investigation wasn’t anything too exciting, the characters are always enjoyable.  So read it, if you’re reading the entire series, but I wouldn’t recommend it as a stand-alone novel.


Other books in the In Death series

Betrayal In Death
Born In Death
Celebrity In Death
Ceremony In Death
Concealed In Death
Devoted In Death
Divided In Death  
Festive In Death
Haunted In Death
Immortal In Death
Indulgence In Death
Innocent In Death
Interlude In Death
Judgment In Death
Midnight In Death
Missing In Death
Naked In Death
Obsession In Death
Origin In Death
Rapture In Death
Reunion In Death
Salvation In Death
Strangers In Death
Survivor In Death
Treachery In Death
Vengeance In Death
Visions In Death

Leave a Reply